The Central Platte Natural Resources District is one of 23 separate Natural Resources Districts created by the Nebraska Legislature in 1972 to protect the state's natural resources.   The Central Platte NRD's boundaries reach from the Lincoln-Dawson county line near Gothenburg on the west to Hwy 81 near Columbus on the east, along the Platte River.  The Central Platte NRD strives to protect groundwater and surface water, reduce flood threats, conserve soil health, create and protect wildlife habitat, and educate children and adults to use natural resources wisely.                                                    

             
CALENDAR OF EVENTS...
AUGUST

Tues. August 19 *Thirty Mile Irrigation Canal Rededication 9:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.

Fri. August 22-Mon. September 1 *Nebraska State Fair-Grand Island.

Fri. August 22- Jim Bendfeldt, CPNRD director, will be in the Conservation Pit@ Nebraska State Fair in the new Nebraska Experience Building.

Fri. August 22- Duane Woodward, hydrologist, will give a presentation on Conjunctive Management Projects in the
Platte Basin @ Nebraska State Fair in the new Nebraska Experience Building.

Tues. August 26- Jess Mintken, projects manager, will give a presentation on Flood Control Projects in the Central Platte NRD @ Nebraska State Fair in the new Nebraska Experience Building.

*NOTE: The August board of directors meeting will be held on Thursday, Sept. 4th at 2:00 p.m.

SEPTEMBER

Mon. September 1  *Labor Day observed.  Office closed.
Thurs. September 4  *August Board of Directors Meeting  2:00 p.m.

Thurs. September 18  *Range Judging Contest hosted by CPNRD & NRCS.

Mon-Tues. Sept. 22-23  *NARD Annual Conference- Younes Center, Kearney.
Thurs. September 25  *September Board of Directors Meeting  2:00 p.m.

OCTOBER
Thurs. October 23  *Board of Directors Meeting  2:00 p.m.
NOVEMBER

Tues. November 4  *Election Day.

Tues. November 11  *Veterans Day observed.  Office closed.
Thurs. November 20  *Board of Directors Meeting  2:00 p.m.
Thurs-Fri. November 27-28 *Thanksgiving holiday observed. Office closed.

DECEMBER
Thurs. December 18  *Board of Directors Meeting  2:00 p.m.
Thurs. December 25  *Christmas Day observed.  Office closed.

 

 

Central Platte
Natural Resources District    

P: 308-385-6282

F: 308-385-6285

215 Kaufman Ave
Grand Island NE 68803
Facebook:
www.facebook.com/CentralPlatteNRD
Email:
cpnrd@cpnrd.org